OSH Authority

This is my personal file.

File 2

File 3

The Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Authority was established in October 2006 on the basis of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, 2004 as amended. It is a multi-stakeholder advisory body to the Ministry of Labour and Small Enterprise Development.  The core tasks of the Authority are:

  • to encourage the enforcement of the OSH Act
  • to promote training and research
  • to provide information  
  • to develop regulations and Approved Codes of Practice according to the OSH Act

A full description of the tasks and functions of the OSH Authority can be found in the text of Sections 66 and 67 of the OSH Act.

Newly appointed Members of the OSH Authority are joined by The Honourable Stephen Mc Clashie, Minister of Labour, to the extreme right Front Row; Ms. Carolyn Sancho, Director, OSH Authority and Ms. Savitri Balkaran, Deputy Permanent Secretary (Ag.) (Middle row at the left of the Minister.

No Name Position Organisation
1. Mr. Curt Cadet Chairman Health, Safety and Environment (HSE) Consultant – Demolition
Power Generation Company of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (PowerGen)
2. Mr. Christopher Hagley Deputy Chairman  
3. Mr. Farouk Mohammed Member Chief Labour Inspector Specialist
Ministry of Labour
4. Dr. Wayne Ramgoolam Member Specialist Medical Officer (Ag.)
Occupational Medicine Unit
South-West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA)
5. Mr. Kendal C. Dolly Member Senior Petroleum Engineer (Ag.)
Contract Management Division
Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries
6. Mr. José Trejo Member Executive Director
Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards
7. Ms. Marisa Ann Bhawanie Member Director
Occupational Safety and Health Department
Tobago House of Assembly (THA)
8. Mr. Farzan Ali Member Deputy Chairman
Board of Directors
Employers’ Consultative Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ECA)
9. Mr. Christopher Alcazar Member Chief Executive Officer
VEMCO Limited
Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers’ Association
10. Mr. Ceron Richards Member President
Prison Officers’ Association of Trinidad and Tobago (Second Division)
11. Mr. Deryck Richardson Member President
Estate Police Association of Trinidad and Tobago
12. Mr. Roger Camacho Member Mechanical Engineer
13. Ms. Jacqueline Burgess Member Network of NGOs of Trinidad and Tobago for the Advancement of Women
14. Mr. Jason Maitland Member Chairman
Institution of Occupational Safety and Health
Caribbean Branch
15. Mr. Maurice Wishart Member Legal Officer III
Legal Services Department
Environmental Management Authority
16. Dr. Sharon Lackan Member Principal Medical and Health Officer, Couva/Tabaquite /Talparo Regional Corporation,
Representative of the Medical Board of Trinidad and Tobago